top of page
  • paulmichalec

IN:SIGHT Shining Light

Updated: Feb 11, 2022



February 9, 2022—The belief that light resides at the center of humanness is common among many faith traditions, its frequency suggests that light is a core element of what it means to be human. If this is true, and I think it is, then teachers who are undeniably human are vessels of light. The Trappist Monk and mystic Thomas Merton describes the human path toward increased light in three steps. A series of markers that educators can use as guides along the spiritual journey toward wholeness. The first step is recognition within the self of the presence of light, what he calls the “diamond essence”. The second step is acceptance of the light within all elements of the world; self, others and nature. The third step is knowing that the source of personal strength needed to heal others and the world comes from the light inside, not the external ego. Merton’s three stages of inner light and outer action are helpful both as a roadmap toward spirit-filled teaching and holistic teacher professional development.


When considering Merton’s assertion about the nature of human-light, what might it mean to envision and embody teaching as a profession of the shining light? What might it mean to look for and work to liberate the light in the heart of every student, teacher or educational leader? In order to consider these big questions, it is first necessary to recognize and attend to the light in one’s own heart. What might seem like a relatively straightforward acceptance is in fact not so easy. I can more easily name the light of others than I can embrace my personal gifts. The invitation by Marge Piercy in her poem Seven of Pentacles to “live as if you liked yourself, and it may happen” has always felt like half affirmation and half aspiration to me. I’m not all that sure if my hesitancy stems from an odd sense of humility that bottles up the light. Or perhaps the struggle is the product of a version of the imposter syndrome that leads me to believe that although I write about and promote the practice of inner reflection, I’m only fooling myself about the existence of my inner light.


My struggle with full acceptance of inner light isn’t a showstopper, more like a subtle distraction. But it is strangely challenging and feels as if I’m not 100% connected to the craft of teaching. And yet, I know beyond doubt that when experiencing a “now what” moment in teaching when my lesson is going sideways that I can rely on the wisdom of my inner teacher. A voice of wisdom offering creative and unique ways forward. Perhaps my hesitancy comes from the realization that it is only in the later years of my educational career that I’m coming to understand that this inner teacher is not something separate from me, it is my true self, my light. Perhaps I’m fearful that full acceptance of the inner light means loss of external elements of identity that I don’t want to release. How about for you, is seeing and accepting your inner light easy or hard? Can you describe its qualities and characteristics? What is your personal evidence of its existence?


Merton’s second stage recognizes the presence of light in others and the world. I find this step toward wholeness easier to enact than the first stage. It is curious to me that I’m more willing to name and work toward the light of others than unconditional acceptance of my personal light. But I have no doubt that the inner light of students exists. It is what my pedagogy attempts to liberate during every class I teach. There is an expression in teaching that I think bears directly on this theme of light in students. How often have you heard a teacher argue that learning is occurring when they exclaim, “I can see the light in the eyes of my students”. Or what about the observation from a teacher that their student’s “eyes light up with wonder” whenever they are exposed to something new or awe inspiring. Or when the lesson is off track a teacher might comment that the “intellectual light” went dim.


Teaching, it seems, is premised on fostering the development of the inner light of students. Which seems oddly out of synch with all the time, energy and professional development targeting effective forms of classroom management dedicated to controlling student behavior. Perhaps more energy and focus should be directed toward freeing the light inside, instead of forcing it into prescribed learning trajectories. Are you able to see or at least recognize the existence of light at the center of all your students? Toward what end does the inner light of students serve in your pedagogy or curriculum? What aspects of schooling are more geared toward dulling the light then encouraging it to shine forth?


The real work of teaching begins with the third stage of mustering the inner light in service of others and the world. It is, perhaps, another way to describe the call to teach. Teaching is inherently acted out in service of students and their need to learn about self, others and the world. Envisioning, creating and sustaining educational spaces that are holistic and life-giving is hard work. These are classroom spaces that cut across institutional imperatives of efficiency, productivity and the commodification of knowledge. Merton argues that there is no place for the ego in this stage of the work because feeding the ego takes time and energy away from the larger task of human liberation. But the ego thrives on recognition and a sense of self-importance, which makes the third stage so difficult to achieve. Reducing the pull of ego is always a work in progress, it requires diligence, discipline and intentionality. The reward for releasing the individual focus of the ego, and instead embracing the unity of all is increased light at the center of one’s being. And with a more robust sense of light comes increased ability to heal self, others and the world.


There is one caveat when considering the value of envisioning teaching as the profession of the shining light. With light there are often shadows. They tend to go hand in hand, and the brighter the light the deeper the shadows. Teachers are not immune to the shadows of fear, anger and bias that can find their way into interactions with students, colleagues and care givers. Also, the inner light is easily buried under the overburden of institutional imperatives of efficiency, educational policies valuing accountability and standards focused on normalized performance that can be measured. The persistent combination of shadows and external forces can and often does facilitate burnout, or perhaps more accurately, the dimming of inner light. The good news is that there is light at the center of every teacher and student. The challenging news is that this light is hard to see at times and easily shielded by ego-driven forces of exclusion. How might you keep the inner light bright for yourself, your colleagues and your students?



32 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page